Kymberli's Music Box Presents Spindrift

Sat. 02/23 | 10:00PM @ Brick & Mortar Music Hall (map)

I like it
  • 1 Tastemakers
  • 16 People
Click "I like it" for a chance to get on the Do415 guestlist
Buy Tickets
Event Details


Cinematic Western-psych outfit Spindrift is nearing the end of their haunting “Ghost Town Tour.” The past few weeks found the group touring the Southwest in proper club dates as well as performing in actual standing ghost towns. Their visits to the remaining ruins of the old west included performances at the legendary Saloon no. 10 in Deadwood, SD and at the sight of the infamous gunfight at theO.K. Corral in Tombstone, AZ.

While playing to the ghostly spirits of each town, Spindrift also caught the attention of major media outlets, including Noisey who had a frank discussion at the prospect of such a tour with Kirpatrick Thomas (vocals/guitar) of the band as well as major newspapers on the tour route including The Salt Lake Tribune, The Arizona Daily Star, and The Albuquerque Journal. Prior to arriving in Arizona, theTucson Weekly noted that “the band sounds cinematic, expansive and eerie. And anyone who has seen the band perform live — they’ve performed in Tucson at least twice before — knows the trademark Spindrift sound is trippy, chill-inducing and rattlingly loud.” The “Ghost Town Tour” concluded with Spindrift’s show with Restavrant and RT & the 44's at The Deer Lodge in Ojai, CA (presented by The New L.A. Folk Fest).

The “Ghost Town Tour” has provided Spindrift the opportunity to perform material from their forthcoming album, Spindrift: Ghost of the West. The group is currently putting the finishing touches to the new full-length, tentatively due out in spring 2013. The album will also include footage filmed by Burke Roberts, JT Gurzi, and Rich Ragsdale that documents Spindrift’s ghostly encounters during the tour. While at the Gallows of Gold Point, NV, the band’s Kirpatrick Thomas (guitars/vocals) and Henry Evans (bass/baritone guitar) acted out the song “Hanging Me Tonight” by Marty Robbins for the film. A production still from the filming, taken by Howard Wise, can be seen above. Spindrift is also planning a spring tour leading up to an appearance at South By Southwest 2013.

In addition to new material, the “Ghost Town Tour” also found Spindrift performing songs from the soundtrack for Ward Robert’s neo-western epic Dust Up. Spindrift’s score for the film contains both instrumental pieces and full on songs, indulging in the band’s talent for both sun-soaked desert rock and cinema themes. Both the film and Spindrift’s soundtrack are available via iTunes, Amazon and all other digital retailers. The film is also currently available on DVD.

The band’s music will next appear in the feature film Treasure of the Black Jaguar, slated to be released in theaters on January 9th, 2013.

Matthew Tow

Matthew J Tow is a singer songwriter from Sydney, Australia. Matthew’s career began in the early 1990′s when he formed the psyche/pop band ‘Drop City’ in Sydney. Drop City were signed to influential Sydney independent label ‘Red Eye’ records, home to the likes of The Go Betweens, Steve Kilbey and The Beasts of Bourbon and released 5 albums from 1993 to 2000. During this time the band received critical acclaim and toured constantly throughout Australia playing the ‘Big Day Out’ festival twice and opening for acts like The Stone Roses, Swervedriver, The Hoodoo Gurus, The Posies, Stereolab and Luna. Matthew also formed the experimental collective ‘Colorsound’ in 1994. The first album ‘You’re Only As Good As Your Sound’ was released in the U.S.A in the same year, culminating in a ‘Jackpot’ review in CMJ magazine. Attention quickly turned to the U.K where Colorsound signed to the label that Sonic Boom (Spacemen 3) had set up ‘Space Age Recordings/3rd Stone Records’. Matthew remained the only constant member of the Colorsound collective, writing and releasing 4 more albums over the next 10 years.

In the aftermath of Drop City, Tow headed to the U.S where he got in touch with his old friend Anton Newcombe of the Brian Jonestown Massacre. In a brief period in 2003 Matthew joined the BJM as a touring rhythm guitarist and collaborated with Newcombe, writing 2 songs for the ‘..And This Is Our Music’ album. During this time, Tow embraced the kaleidoscopic sounds and textures being explored by many bands in the psychedelic underground of the West Coast scene, and blended it with his own pop sensibility and created The Lovetones.

The Lovetones released its first album, the critically acclaimed “Be What You Want” in 2002/03 with Rolling Stone Magazine Australia hailing Matthew J. Tow’s songwriting as being ‘worthy of Ray Davies, Bowie, Lennon and McCartney’. in 2003 they toured the United States with the BJM. The Lovetones released its second album, “Meditations” in 2005, with another tour of the U.S and Europe with the BJM and an appearance at SXSW in 2006. Conceived as the first part of a musical trilogy, ‘Meditations’ was succeeded by ‘Axiom’ in 2007, displaying once again The Lovetones’ mastery of psychedelic pop. It wasn’t long before The Lovetones built up an impressive live following in the States. In 2009 the band released the critically acclaimed “Dimensions” LP – charting via CMJ in the USA. In 2010, The Lovetones completed the fabulous nine track LP “Lost”. 2012 saw the release of the long awaited retrospective ‘Provenance-Collected Works’. Online music site ‘Mess + Noise’ summed up the release like this..“The relevance to The Lovetones and their newly-released compilation album Provenance is two-fold. Firstly, The Lovetones are a band that captures and extends the best of the classic 1960s pop sensibility. Secondly, unlike the near-dead band relying on a greatest hits album to resuscitate a failing career, Provenance is a timely reminder of the songwriting brilliance of The Lovetones, and Matthew Tow in particular.”

After 20 years of writing, touring and releasing records in various incarnations and musical projects, early 2013 will see the release of Matthew J Tow’s first solo record under his own name. ‘The Way Of Things’ (Xemu Records) was recorded over a year in Portland U.S and Australia and was produced by Collin Hegna (Federale, BJM) and Ryan Carlson van Kriedt (The Asteroid No 4, Dead Skeletons). It signals the next step in the life and career of singer songwriter and musical journeyman Matthew J Tow. Described as ‘a life affirming meditation examining the ebb and flow of life through the natural order of things’, the album features 9 tracks spanning psyche pop, country, folk and drone explorations, with musical contributions from members of the BJM, Asteroid 4, The Warlocks etc.

Guest DJ Scott Vitt of the Asteroid No. 4


Powered by DoStuff Media. Privacy | Terms of Service